Australian trucking greats honoured at the 2016 NatRoad Awards

19-Aug-2016 9:00 PM

NatRoad members who have been with road transport organisations for more than 35 years were honoured tonight at the 2016 NatRoad Gala Dinner and Awards in Cairns.

“It is a privilege to support members, many of whom have been with NatRoad for decades,” NatRoad Chief Executive Officer Warren Clark said.

“NatRoad has a very special group of members who have been members of road transport industry associations for more than 35 years.

“Thirteen companies have continuous membership with NatRoad as well as the forerunning associations the Long Distance Transport Association (1948) and the National Transport Federation (1986).

“As we approach the 70th year since the first road transport industry association was formed, NatRoad would like to recognise those companies and people who have laid the foundations of this industry.

“Road transport heritage is wrapped up in these long running companies and they continue to contribute to creating a bright future for the industry.

“Amongst the recipients of the Foundation Member Award are five NatRoad members who have held a membership for over 50 years - Lindsay Australia, Max Keogh Transport, Nubridge Holdings, HTS Logistics and John L Pierce.

“Terry Walker receiving his Foundation Member awarded cited his attendance at every NatRoad Conference since 1989.

Mr Clark said the 2016 NatRoad Gala Dinner and Awards presented by Cummins, PACCAR & the PACCAR Dealer Group was a highlight of the two day 2016 NatRoad Conference in Cairns.

“We are honoured to recognise Jason Burton from National Tilt Tray Service (Newcastle) as the winner of the 2016 Transport Youth Award, an active advocate raising awareness for road safety as well as stopping regularly to assist fellow motorists.

“ 2016 Professional Driver of the Year Award has been bestowed upon Glenn Munn from Ron Crouch Transport (Wagga Wagga) who has been involved in the transport industry for over 30 years without accident or injury and with an exemplary record.

Mr Clark said the ted Pickering memorial Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Road Freight Industry was presented to Haset Sali (Victoria).

“Mr Sali was instrumental in establishing the National Transport Federation even providing office space for its operations.

“Amongst his achievements, he introduced speed limiters on all new articulated vehicles throughout Australia and laying the foundations for a national system of driver registration and accreditation.”

Mr Clark said the 2016 NatRoad Conference had been enormously successful with over 260 attendees from across Australia. 

Topic: General News

Media contact


About us