Monash experts available for comment

01-Dec-2017 9:12 AM

Monash University has a number of experts available for comment on a range of topics relating to the festive season.

Flood insurance: insuring against large scale events
What is the effect of governmental relief on flood insurance behaviour?
The effect of natural disasters on economic growth
Dr Paul Raschky, Department: Economics
Contact details: +61 3 9903 4840 or Paul.Raschky@monash.edu

Why Amazon’s arrival in Australia is the greatest retail disruption in years
Christmas spending: economic impacts and trends
Professor Harmen Oppewal, Department of Marketing 
Contact details: +61 3 9903 2360 or Harmen.Oppewal@monash.edu
(Not available January 2-15)

Problem gambling can intensify during the festive season
Dr Charles Livingstone, Department of Health Social Science
Contact details: +61 407 322 949 or Charles.Livingstone@monash.edu 

All aspects of traffic law enforcement (including alcohol/drug related accidents)
Professor Max Cameron, Monash University Accident Research Centre
Contact details: +61 417 331 762 or Max.Cameron@monash.edu

How will our public transport cope with the demand over the festive season?
Professor Graham Currie, Department of Civil Engineering
Contact details: +61 414 852 699 or Graham.Currie@monash.edu

Managing your cholesterol, blood pressure and blood sugar levels
Professor Helena Teede, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Contact details: +61 407 005 737  or Helena.Teede@monash.edu

Bushfires, crime and climate change;
Advancing bushfire arson prevention in Australia

Paul read, Monash Sustainability Institute
Contact details: +61 410 089 746 or Paull.Read@monash.edu

Christmas spending: economic impacts and trends
Dr Rodney Maddock, Department of Economics
Contact details: +61 417 554 149 or Rodney.Maddock@monash.edu

Bushfires: social impacts and community resilience
Professor Margaret Alston, Department of Social Work
Contact details: +61 418 242 856 or Margaret.Alston@monash.edu

Blood supplies and transfusion emergencies over the holiday period
Associate Professor Eric Wood, Head of Transfusion Research Unit
Phone: +61 407 038 435 or Erica.Wood@monash.edu

Maintaining diet and weight-loss goals during the festive season
Associate Professor Wendy Brown, Department of Surgery
Contact details: +61 422 239 100 or Wendy.Brown@monash.edu

Can the festive season lead to binge drinking?
Professor Dan Lubman, Turning Point Alcohol and Drug Centre
Contact details: +61 3 8413 8400 or Dan.Lubman@monash.edu

The Boxing Day test;
Australian Open;

How large sporting events promote the Victoria as the place to conduct sport business
Dr Tom Heenan, National Centre for Australian Studies
Contact details: +61 439 047 118 or Tom.Heenan@monash.edu

Are people addicted to being busy?
Professor Jane Fisher, The Jean Hailes Foundation
Contact details: +61 3 9594 7566 or Jane.Fisher@monash.edu
Unavailable Dec 22 – Jan 9

General mental health and;
Mental illness can worsen during the festive season

Professor Jayashri Kulkarni, Central and Eastern Clinical School
Contact details: +61 3 9276 6924 or Jayashri.Kulkarni@monash.edu    

Managing stress and conflict over the festive period;
Mindfulness

Dr Craig Hassed, Department of General Practice
Contact details: +61 3 9808 2262 or Craig.Hassed@monash.edu

General political commentary
Dr Zareh Ghazarian, School of Social Sciences
Contact details: +61 402 851 224 or Zareh.Ghazarian@monash.edu
or
Dr Nick Economou, School of Social Sciences
Contact details: +61 425 748 166 or Nick.Economou@monash.edu

Life Insurance and Genetic Testing
Dr Paul Lacaze, Head of Genomics
Phone: +61 409 416 931 or Paul.Lacaze@monash.edu

MEDIA ENQUIRIES

Media
Monash University
T: +61 3 9903 4840
E: media@monash.edu

For more Monash media stories, visit our news and events site

Looking for a Monash expert? Search Expertline.
 

Topic: General News

Media contact

Monash Media and Communications
Media Officer

media@monash.edu

Tel: +61 3 9903 4840

About us

Monash University was established in 1958 and welcomed its first intake of students in 1961. In its fifty year history, the university has established itself as one of Australia’s finest tertiary institutions, building an enviable reputation for both its outstanding teaching and its transformative research. Today, Monash is Australia’s largest university, boasting a global network of more than 250,000 alumni.

More in Monash University Newsroom