Local communities say thanks to Western Australia teachers who stand out in state awards

23-Oct-2017 7:30 PM

Strictly embargoed until 24 October: Thirteen exceptional teachers who have made an impact in their local communities in Western Australia have been honoured with ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards (NEiTA).

They are among the 60 state and territory recipients to be awarded the prestigious honour—selected from almost 1450 community nominations. 
Now in its 23rd year, ASG NEiTA gives parents, grandparents, school boards and councils and committees of management the opportunity to formally thank and recognise outstanding and dedicated teachers, who are passionate about driving a world class education system and encouraging students to reach their full potential.
ASG NEiTA Chief Executive Officer, John Velegrinis says these educators recognise that ‘it takes a village to raise a child,’ which is testament to their dedication and the impact they have on the lives of those they serve in local communities. 
“In many respects, teaching is about giving, not only to children and students but to their families and the community networks around them. Some of the ASG NEiTA recipients come from very small towns and do represent the heartbeat of these communities.   
“These teachers have an enormous responsibility in shaping and guiding these young people as well as supporting the educational aspirations families have for their children. Their teaching stretches beyond the core curriculum and standardised testing, and they also help children develop the social skills they need to develop into successful adults. Ensuring children have a well-rounded education is something our ASG NEiTA recipients are absolutely passionate about. This passion is welcomed by families as they want teachers to play a greater role in developing their children’s life skills, which was one of the key findings in the latest ASG Parents Report Card.” 
The awards are classed into early childhood, primary and secondary categories.
ASG NEiTA chairman, Allen Blewitt says the awards highlight a long history of positive relationships being built between teachers and their communities.
 “These teachers are also mentors and the influence they have on young people is remarkable as they learn to appreciate the value of lifelong learning as they navigate their life journeys. So,   ASG NEiTA is one of the only channels where the community gets to express their sincere gratitude through nominating an inspirational teacher, educator, principal or centre director.”
Queensland had 19 ASG NEiTA recipients, followed by 12 in New South Wales, four each in Victoria and South Australia, three each in Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory and two for Hobart. 
ASG NEiTA will announce the national award recipients in March 2018. Professional development grants are available at the national award level, and one recipient gets the opportunity to go to Space Camp in Alabama alongside top teachers from each US state.
Western Australia
Teacher School Postcode Category
Fiona Scidone Clifton Hills Primary School 6111 Early Childhood
Luisa Mander Telethon Speech & Hearing School 6014 Early Childhood
Vanessa Hince Mary MacKillop Catholic Community Primary School 6066 Primary
Jo Wright St Mary’s Primary School 6430 Primary
Kevin Mazzer The Perth Waldorf School 6163 Primary
Penny Crossland All Saints College 6149 Primary
Louise Barber Kearnan College 6258 Primary
Lee-Anne Morroccolli Emmanuel Catholic College 6164 Secondary
Shaloni Naik Ashdale Secondary College 6065 Secondary
Carl Grice Frederick Irwin Anglican School 6210 Secondary
Bridget Murphy St Norbert College 6987 Secondary
Ulrich Purwein Mindarie Senior College 6030 Secondary
Stephen Julian Mandurah Catholic College 6210 Secondary
For more information, please contact:
Nicole Gundi
Media and Communications Adviser       
0448 167 578

Editor’s notes:
The Australian Scholarships Group (ASG) is a member owned organisation, helping to create educational opportunities for children. ASG has been helping families and their children for more than 40 years. During this time, more than 530,000 children have been enrolled with ASG and more than $2.5 billion in education benefits and scholarship payments returned to members.
The ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards (NEiTA) started in 1994 in Australia and 1996 in New Zealand. Since inception, more than 34,000 teachers have been nominated by the community in the two countries.
For more information visit: www.asg.com.au/asg-neita

Topic: Education

Media contact

About us