Local communities say thanks to Tasmanian teachers with state awards

23-Oct-2017 7:30 PM

Strictly embargoed until 24 October: Two inspirational teachers who have made an impact in their local communities in Tasmania have been honoured with ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards (ASG NEiTA).

Jan Berne from Deloraine Primary School and Glenn Schultz from Taroona High School are among the 60 state and territory recipients to be awarded the prestigious honour—selected from almost 1450 community nominations. 
Now in its 23rd year, ASG NEiTA gives parents, grandparents, school boards and councils and committees of management the opportunity to formally thank and recognise outstanding and dedicated teachers, who are passionate about driving a world class education system and encouraging students to reach their full potential.
Ms Berne has a close-knit connection with many of the school families having grown up in Deloraine herself. Two very inspirational and wonderful teachers fostered Jan’s love of school and learning and she works with autistic children, using a range of strategies to support their learning and ensure their success.
Mr Schultz doesn’t mind a noisy classroom and lets his students raise it up a notch or two. Glenn had a music and performance career with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra and he often performs to his students to show them what’s possible. He sets very high standards, challenging his students with extended learning programs. Glenn has also established a not for profit organisation, Island Brass Academy, for gifted and talented students.
ASG NEiTA Chief Executive Officer, John Velegrinis says educators like Ms Berne and Mr Schultz recognise that ‘it takes a village to raise a child,’ which is testament to their dedication and the impact they have on the lives of those they serve in local communities. 
“In many respects, teaching is about giving, not only to children and students but to their families and the community networks around them. Some of the ASG NEiTA recipients come from very small towns and do represent the heartbeat of these communities.   
“These teachers have an enormous responsibility in shaping and guiding these young people as well as supporting the educational aspirations families have for their children. Their teaching stretches beyond the core curriculum and standardised testing. They also help children develop the social skills they need to develop into successful adults. Ensuring children have a well-rounded education is something our ASG NEiTA recipients are absolutely passionate about. This is welcomed by families as they want teachers to play a greater role in developing their children’s life skills, which was one of the key findings in the latest ASG Parents Report Card.”
The awards are classed into early childhood, primary and secondary categories.
ASG NEiTA chairman, Allen Blewitt says the awards highlight a long history of positive relationships being built between teachers and their communities.
“These teachers are also mentors and the influence they have on young people is remarkable as they learn to appreciate the value of lifelong learning as they navigate their life journeys. So,   ASG NEiTA is one of the only channels where the community gets to express their sincere gratitude through nominating an inspirational teacher, educator, principal or centre director.”
Queensland had 19 ASG NEiTA recipients, followed by 13 in Western Australia, 12 in New South Wales, four each in Victoria and South Australia, and three each in the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.  

ASG NEiTA will announce the national award recipients in March 2018. Professional development grants are available at the national award level, and one recipient gets the opportunity to go to Space Camp in Alabama alongside top teachers from each US state.
Teacher School Postcode Category
Jan Berne Deloraine Primary School 7304 Early Childhood
Glenn Schultz Taroona High School 7053 Secondary
For more information, please contact:
Nicole Gundi
Media and Communications Adviser       
0448 167 578
Editor’s notes:

The Australian Scholarships Group (ASG) is a member owned organisation, helping to create educational opportunities for children. ASG has been helping families and their children for more than 40 years. During this time, more than 530,000 children have been enrolled with ASG and more than $2.5 billion in education benefits and scholarship payments returned to members.
The ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards (NEiTA) started in 1994 in Australia and 1996 in New Zealand. Since inception, more than 34,000 teachers have been nominated by the community in the two countries.
For more information visit: www.asg.com.au.

Topic: Education

Media contact


About us